So Peppy I Wanna Puke

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).  Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:

One of your friends is feeling down and needs to feel better. Make a mix to make him/her feel better. This can be songs you know your friend will love or songs meant to cheer someone up. You decide.

I’m probably not the person a friend will come to wanting “cheery” music to begin with.  When I’m down, I listen to depressing music .  I’m in that kind of mood now, making this tape even more extra-special difficult.  I usually choose my music to suit my mood, not use music to try to change my mood.

That being said, I’m going to pretend I have a friend that needs upbeat, bouncy music.  I going to call this my “So Peppy I Wanna Puke” mixtape.  Throw the lyrics out the window, just ignore them, this is music that will get your head nodding and your toes tapping.

1.  One Week – Barenaked Ladies.  Um yeah, bouncy.

2.  Two Princes – Spin Doctors.

3.  I Want Candy – Good Charlotte.  Originally, I’d planned to put the original Bow Wow Wow version, but I just had to work in a little rock edge somewhere.

4.  Everybody Talks – Neon Trees.  Something from this decade to help round out the list.

5.  Walking on Sunshine – Katrina and the Waves.  The ultimate in upbeat, happy happy joy joy songs.  I think even I can’t be depressed while this song is playing.

Dream signature

19 comments

  1. Lance

    couldn’t pull the trigger on Katrina and the Wave, glad you did.

    I just want to know what chickety china the Chinese chicken means

    • Dream

      Okay, since two people asked about it, I did a little research. The song is full of pop culture references and the Chickety China, the Chinese Chicken is a takeoff on a line Busta Rhymes sings in A Tribe Called Quest’s song, “Scenario”. That line is “Chickity Choco, the chocolate chicken; The rear cock diesel, buttcheeks, they were kicking.” meaning they were beating up a bodybuilder.

  2. SAM

    As a person with severe hearing loss, I generally toss the lyrics out the window anyway and, like you, play music to suit my mood. These songs are great pick-me-ups for sure!

    • Dream

      Sometimes that comes back to bite me in the butt, such as how I originally thought Pumped-Up Kicks was such a fun song until I found out it was referencing the minds of troubled kids that imagine what it would be like to go on a shooting spree.

  3. Jillian

    Great minds think alike! I spy with my little eye some Barenaked Ladies! Haha. 🙂 That Neon Trees song has disappeared off the radio – let’s petition for it to come back a.s.a.p!

    • Dream

      I don’t think I ever heard it on the radio since I’m usually tuned to classic rock or my own CDs. It may have been from this blog hop that I ran across it.

  4. Michelle Matthews-DeLorge

    You had me until walking on sunshine and then I wanted to puke. LOL That song always reminds me of the winter olympics when Michelle Kwan got robbed of the Gold medal and I was PISSED. I’m big into figure skating. Anywho, the girl that beat her did her routine to Walking on Sunshine and hence my abhoration of the song.