Wake Up

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).  Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:

A mix to Get Motivated. Whether it’s to workout, write or just get out of bed. Mix it up!

The bloggers of Twisted Mixtape Tuesday took a trip through the decades for our topics last summer and for one of my weeks covering the 1990’s, I mixed songs from that decade that I use to motivate me at the gym, called Angry White Girl Gym Music.  The gym is about the only time that I specifically play music to motivate me, instead of hearing a song then becoming motivated.  Subtle difference, but it makes it kind of tough to narrow down this topic.  So I’m sticking with my gym music for this mixtape as well.

What do I look for when adding to my gym playlists?  Its all about the beat baby and if I can find music that matches my pace on the treadmill, I don’t even notice the time passing or how much my legs feel like spaghetti.  Forget the lyrics, they could be singing Mary Had a Little Lamb because when the drums and the guitars echo my pace and the beat of my heart, I go to my happy place, until I hear something unexpected and get shocked awake, then trip, fall flat on my face and get catapulted off the back of the treadmill.  Yeah, that’s happened.

1.  Space Lord – Monster Magnet.  Love this song for my warm-up.

2.  You – Candlebox.  Another great one while warming up.  This band is responsible for one of my favorite songs (Far Behind) and is astonishingly underrated.

3.  Would? – Alice in Chains.

4.  Siva – Smashing Pumpkins.

5.  Wake Up – Rage Against the Machine.  There are two bands that make up the bulk of my gym music, Disturbed and RATM.  Since I included a Disturbed song on the original mixtape, I’ll let Rage have a spot in this one.

Dream signature

23 comments

  1. Louise

    I love the first one – then I got TOTALLY sidetracked by your linked posted because that was my memories post – ah Prodigy, Limp Bizkit, Breath in, Breath out…. And Bawitdaba is on my running track (though I prefer Cocky – just sayin’)

    I’m less familiar with these – but see why they work too!

    • Dream

      That’s my second favorite mixtape since I’ve joined the blog hop (the other was my other 90’s post which I used for my Favorite of the Year link). Actually, my favorite Kid Rock is Devil Without a Cause and Cocky is in my top 3.

      • Louise

        Ah Kid Rock! I remember seeing him at a festival concert with friends and being the only one who knew all the words… Wasting Time is my favourite. Devil Without a Cause is great too! And I’m trite and predictable – so I love Cowboy 🙂

  2. Lance

    I own all of this music…I’m starting to think we’re blood related or at least should be

    great playlist

  3. Jen

    I actually listened to all of these songs because the only ones I new were The Smashing Pumpkins and Rage, I didn’t hate it. It’s so interesting to me how people need to listen to angry music to work out. Working out makes me angry, I don’t need help! LOL!

    • Dream

      For me, its sustaining the anger, keeping the adrenaline up and the mental stamina to override my body’s intense physical desire to quit, go home and lay on the couch eating chips and cookies all day.

  4. The Insomniac's Dream

    I am so pumped up right now I want to run out AND TAKE OVER THE WORLD! This list is FANTASTIC! I wanna fight, run, dance, sing, and make words on pages.

    These five songs are officially on my list for the Muse when she wants angry music for fight scenes.

    PUMPED UP! WOO!

    • Dream

      The first list of Angry White Girl Gym music I linked to is actually better (in my opinion). This is my second-string mixtape.

  5. Marcy

    Great choices! Some of them were new to me, and I can see how they’d be great on the treadmill. I tend to only walk on mine–I get afraid of falling off when I’m running (plus, you know, I hate running).

    • Dream

      I was a long distance runner on the track team through most of school and loved it. Now I have two knees with replacements in their future and really miss running. About all I can manage now is a fast walk and love my music to keep the pace.