Holy Shit…Its Christmas!

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).  Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:

It is officially OK to be listening to Christmas Music now! Bring it on! Maybe we’ll find some new favorite Christmas tunes for our holiday playlists!

I knew this was coming at some point in December even before Jen posted the list of upcoming topics.  By the time Thanksgiving is over, I’m already so sick of Christmas music that I could yak every time one comes on the radio or I walk into a store and hear it blaring from the speakers.  I’m not a complete Grinch, just about the holiday music.

The only thing I can stand and even enjoy in December is the parodies and the mashups.  As a matter of fact, I do look forward to hearing them each year.  But these probably aren’t going to be the things you hear out in the general public.  The videos may look all cute and animated, but the lyrics are a complete snarkfest over everything wintery and Christmasy.  Just the way I like it.  So put on the headphones or wait til the younger kiddies are in bed because these ain’t your Grandma’s Christmas carols.

******************************************************************

WARNING:  Explicit subject matter and lyrics!!!!

******************************************************************

1.  Holy Shit, It’s Christmas! – Red Peters.  This one’s especially for those that are sick of the stupid Chipmunk Christmas song brought to you by those dirty-minded, foul-mouthed hamsters.  Gotta love when they change the words on him!

2.  Leroy the Redneck Reindeer – Joe Diffie.   Okay, so I’m going country with one of my songs, but I love this hillbilly version of Rudolph.

3.  The Night Santa Went Crazy – Weird Al Yankovic.  You can’t talk about Christmas parodies without including a little Weird Al.  By the second week in December, this is about how I feel.

4.  Ho Ho, Fucking Ho – Kevin Wilson.  This time its Santa’s employees that lose their shit.

5.  XM@$ – Corey Taylor.   I just heard this one this season and immediately added it to my list.  This is my perfect Christmas song.

In a more serious musical mind, there are two rocking Christmas song mashups that I like that I’m including as a bonus.

6.  Lonely Siberian Winter – DJ John.  From A Very Bootie Christmas 1 mashup album.

7.  Yuletide Zeppelin – Mojochronic.  From the A Very Bootie Christmas 2 mashup album.  A lot of Zeppelin makes the Christmas Carols much easier to take.

Dream signature

8 comments

  1. cynkingfeeling

    This is why I avoid stores and listen to audio books instead of the radio-I don’t want to be forced to listen to Christmas music too early or for so long that my ears bleed.

  2. Jen

    Oh my gosh! I totally forgot about Leroy the Red Neck Reindeer! I had heard it but it was totally off my radar! Thank you for the re-introduction. Sorry if I had to torture you with all this Christmas music 🙂