Spiritual Songs

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along). Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:

Songs that are spiritual. In anyway. To you, about something spiritual, you decide.

I was raised as a dress-up each Sunday and go to church Presbyterian.  Even on vacations, we still went to my grandmother’s church.  Then I went to a small-town Southern Baptist college, with Religion courses required and attendance at a certain number of services or convocations each semester.  The final class I took was World Religions, where I got the intellectual basis outside the faith I was raised in.  Throughout all this, I never really connected with spirituality.

Then, living in Asia did more for my personal faith than twenty years in church, Sunday school and confirmation classes. In my spare time, I took temple tours of whatever country I happened to be in.  It was there that I first began to feel what faith felt like.

Though my views have changed and become more internalized, when I think of spiritual music, I’m always pulled back to the church.  I tried to avoid the classic hymns, except for the last one.


1.  You Raise Me Up – Josh Groban.


2.  His Eye is on the Sparrow – Lauryn Hill and CeCe Winans.

3. Maybe God Is Trying to Tell You Something – The Color Purple.

4.  Halleluah – k.d. lang

5.  How Great Thou Art – Elvis Presley and the Jordanaires.  This one was my grandmother’s favorite song and I had to include it for her.

Dream signature

8 comments

  1. Lance

    I like how many different version of Leonard Cohen’s Hallelulah is making the lists.

    And look at you breaking out the old school gospel E? good job

    • Dream

      I noticed that, though I still love k.d. lang’s voice paired with it. Grandma sang in the choir for most of her life and loved her hymns. She went over the moon when Elvis recorded her favorite. I think he won more awards for his gospel music than he did for his rock.

    • Dream

      I remember hearing the Mahalia Jackson version and also Nell Carter sing it in some comedy movie, but my favorite was Lauryn Hill in Sister Act 2.

  2. Clark Scottroger

    Winans! (this is the second Post that had a direct connection with some of my picks!), I believe that Fred Hammond got his start playing bass for the Winans. very cool

  3. Jen

    This mix is brilliant. I sometimes feel like I want more spiritual music in my mainstream playlists, some of these songs were new to me, some were forgotten. You know I have the Soundtrack to The Fighting Temptations, there are so many pieces of gold in there, this totally reminded me! Thanks for this list!