Drinking My Baby Goodbye

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along). Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:

Make a mix of songs that are totally from a genre or style of music that you don’t usually listen to. You know… 5 songs that you love anyway.

Over the weeks since seeing this topic, I’ve been thinking of some unusual sub-themes that would fit this week’s topic:  Cajun and/or Zydeco, Reggae, Parodies, or Off-Broadway musicals songs that began with the letter “X”.  You know, something slightly out of the ordinary that had a chance of being an original list.  But since having a mixed bag of emotions week, I decided to go the easy route and pick Country Music.

I’m not much for current popular country, but I do love me some of those Outlaws.  The country singers, not the bikers.  The ones that lived the life they sang about and you could hear that hard times in every note they sang.

1.  The Blues Man – Alan Jackson.  This is my number one favorite country song.  Though originally recorded by Hank Williams, Jr. in the late 70’s, I prefer this version, even though Alan Jackson isn’t exactly an outlaw, but the song is about one.  Sometimes it just takes someone having faith in you to motivate you to drag yourself up from rock bottom.

2.  Family Tradition – Hank Williams, Jr.  Speaking of Hank, I have to include him on this list since he’s the first concert I ever went to.  All his rowdy friends may have settled down by that point, but his rowdy fans hadn’t.  This was also the first fight I’d ever gotten into.

3.  Folsom Prison Blues – Johnny Cash.  No country music list of mine can be complete without this man and this song.  Johnny Cash may not have actually served time, but he was certainly held prisoner by his addictions.

4. You Never Even Called Me By My Name – David Allan Coe.  This truly is the perfect country and western song.  What other song would have a verse like “I was drunk they day my Mom got out of prison”?

5.  Drinking My Baby Goodbye – Charlie Daniels Band.  This is the kind of song you just have to stand up and yell “Yeehaw!” and get up and dance when it comes on.

Bonus:

6.  Take This Job and Shove It – Johnny Paycheck.  My grandfather worked for the city driving a garbage truck for most of his life.  Back then they government jobs required you to retire at age 65.  Every time he would hear this song, he loudly brag about how he was going to go into Leroy’s office (his boss) on the day he had to retire and play him this song.  And I’ll be damned if that ornery cuss wasn’t true to his word and did it.

Dream signature

27 comments

    • Dream

      I noticed that (I think a few might go with country). Let’s throw some sawdust on the floor, grab a couple cowboys and tear it up with some two-step and east coast swing.

  1. Louise

    Only one I knew on this list was Johnny Cash (and yay! BTW) – had a good giggle re: the perfect country song verse. You have to love a genre that can laugh about itself. Fun list!

    • Dream

      Thanks! I think that’s one of the reasons I don’t like popular country. Its become such “big business” that its lost a lot of the humor that made it so much fun.

      • Louise

        I don’t know a lot of country but one of the current ones I do love is Toby Keith – very much able to see the humour in the genre. So I think there are some, but yes, generally agree.

  2. Rich Rumple

    YeeeeeHaaaaawwww! Kick it strong, kick it long! lol Seriously, since moving to Kentucky (or maybe just getting older) I’ve developed a taste for country music. It’s kind of strange because I made fun of it for years. No, I don’t put on one country cd after another, but one every week or so is a nice break from rock, jazz and blues. Alan Jackson is under rated, even though he’s a star. 90% of his songs tell stories that will grab your soul. I still get wet eyed to his, “Where were you when the world stopped turning.” I don’t know how much you’ve listened to Charlie Daniels, but if you get a chance, go back and listen to his Saddle Tramp album. It’s his best in my book. Not only is the title track a kicker, there’s a jazzy/bluuzy song called “It’s My Life” that will make you stand tall and sing along. Really good Stuff!

    • Dream

      I’ve lived in various parts of the South all my life, so its not like I could ever completely escape country. Instead of muzak, a lot of businesses play the local #1 C&W station, so even if I don’t listen to it, I’m usually familiar with the most popular of the bunch. I’ll check out that CDB.

  3. Lance

    I grew up with this music. any country before 1980, I probably like.

    Hank Jr was a heck of an artist in the 1970s. Good list. It sounds like my house in 1980.

  4. Slu

    Dreamer… What a great List. The ‘Old School’ sound. And a great sound it is. I’ve been to many Alan Jackson concerts at the Houston Rodeo through the years. Always liked him. Very much enjoyed this List. Thanks, Slu

    • Dream

      We used to look forward to the rodeo every year. My dad’s company had one of those executive boxes in the Astrodome, so it was always a big party.

  5. curiosa kat

    Hearing songs like “Drinking My Baby Goodbye” reels me back to happy memories in college when I signed up for one whole semester of Line Dancing Class! Happy times!! I love your bonus song, too! 🙂

  6. Clark Scottroger

    I’m with Rich on this one…most of my life I would do the predictable joke about ‘them whats done me wrong’ music.
    Of course, the giants (Cash, Hank and a couple of others, well they were accorded an exception) but for the most part country was not on my playlist.
    One of the songs that caught my attention and made my ‘acquiring a taste’ for the genre easier was ‘Don’t Rock That Jukebox’ which I liked from the first listen. I suspect true country fans would not put Alan Jackson at the center of hard-core country, it served the purpose of ‘letting me like’ an example of the genre…the rest followed.

    • Dream

      I think Alan Jackson was unintentionally one of the forerunners in the 90’s that helped country become more mainstream and rise to the kind of popularity it has today.

  7. Jen

    I LOVE THIS LIST!!!!! This is perfect! You did it better than I would have, but you and I have the same taste in country, that’s for sure. You know I’m reading Johnny Cash’s last autobiography and he was talking about what you eluded to. About what Country music was really about. Now it’s about the boots and the pose and the twang, but it used to be about a lifestyle. Great list!

    • Dream

      When I started reading your post about the country music, I thought for sure you’d have a similar list. Whew! When I was fact checking about making sure Johnny Cash had never actually served time, the author referred to one of his biographies and I made a note so I could see if they were on Kindle. But personal feeling is that somewhere in the late 80’s/early 90’s there was a split between the Traditionalists, like these guys, and the Progressives, more like the Garth Brooks types. That’s where I drew my line.

  8. Kristi Campbell

    I don’t even know any of these songs except the Johnny Cash one. I went country as well but you did it way better than I did! I’m totally digging “Drinking My Baby Goodbye!” Thanks for that.