Weekly Wrap-up

ribbonThis is what happens when lots of little stuff happens during the week that is too much for a Tweet, but not enough for its own blog post.  First the not-so-good, then the better news.

As an update to my breast biopsy ordeal post, I’ve developed some kind of allergic reaction to the specific adhesive or material of the external bandage.  I’ve got some nice blisters in a semi-circle around the incision area.  But I’m healing, at least physically.

I was told at the time of the biopsy by one of the technicians that the one sample they were able to get wasn’t good enough.  I was woken up by a phone call yesterday morning from the mammography center to let me know that my biopsy came back benign.  After the doctor left the room, he checked the sample himself and declared it enough to send to the pathologist.  When tested, it was confirmed that it was a “good” sample that did contain some of the microcalcifications.  So its a valid result.  Whew!!! (yes, deserving of three exclamation points)

Thanks to everyone that responded, both on the blog post and privately, for all the well-wishes, laughter, prayers and sharing of experiences.

The good news is allowing me to now not only celebrate, but enjoy my favorite weekend.  My one and only Mom-cation of the year.  For 2-1/2 glorious days every October, I have a solid 56 hours or so all to myself.  My husband and son make an annual “pilgrimage” to Alabama on the second weekend in October for an antique engine show.  Its an important tradition for them and its vital to helping me keep my sanity for the upcoming year.

I usually take a break from any housework and enjoy my time either watching movies, reading, soaking in a bubble bath, or playing computer games.  And I sleep, whenever I feel like it without having to adhere to someone else’s schedule.  I get to do what *I* want to do, when I want to do it.

I also take a much needed break from my healthy eating and let my “grazing” instinct have free reign.  I stock up on chips, lunch meats, Little Debbie, and bread products (soft pretzels and cheese bread), as well as some sweets like ice cream and cappuccino cookies.  Yeah, I go a little crazy, but I deserve it for keeping myself on a tight dietary leash for the other 363 days of the year.

I’ve also had some time to catch up on my blogging and shows I’ve got stacked up on my DVR.  I’ve got my Twisted MixTape Tuesday posts ready to go for the next couple weeks, which makes me very happy.

I’m also caught up on the lectures for the History of Rock course I’ve been taking online.  For anyone that loves music, its absolutely fascinating.  Part 1 is coming to a close next week with the introduction of psychedelic rock in the late 60’s/early 70’s.  Luckily, Part 2 starts right after, plus the same instructor will be teaching a 6-week Beatles course at the beginning of next year.  The great part about this instructor is that he packs a lot of information in an interesting way into lectures in short 5-10 minute sections that only take up a couple hours’ time each week.  Contact me via Twitter or the message button on my blog sidebar if you’d like information on these free online courses.

In closing, I heard this song during one of the parts of this week’s Dancing With The Stars (a tango, I think) and its been haunting me all week.  I don’t know why.  I do know when I have the inclination, I’ll check out more of what the artist has to offer.  Enjoy!

Dream signature

6 comments

  1. katecrimmins

    Ah yes…then there is the adhesion allergy. I swear most people have it yet they still use the heavy tape. Next time you need tape for anything let them know. There is an alternative that isn’t near as irritating. Congrats on the positive results. Your experience so mirrors mine that it’s scary (except I had the cancer diagnosis at the end). You deserve your time with Miss Debbie and all the rest of the naughty stuff. Enjoy!

    • Dream

      The nurse gave me the name of the substance that’s irritating (tetraderm, teraderm, something like that) and said its amazing the number of people that do have some kind of reaction to it.

      The naughty stuff has been delicious. I even had two cold tacos for breakfast this morning. Yum!

  2. Al

    Good news that it was benign, and now you can start to get abreast of some of the things you need to catch up on 😉

    I hope the blisters clear soon. Thank you for sharing your good news with us

  3. Lance

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your weekend and listening to great music. That piece is mind is well deserved for you.

    Hang in there, dude. Best wishes your way, from me.