Just a Perfect Day

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along). Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:

I wouldn’t love these songs so much if they weren’t part of a Soundtrack. Your favorite songs from soundtracks, could be anywhere from pop music you love to original scores, you decide. Try and use the point of view that it was the Soundtrack that made you love the song.

I completely adore the topic this week as it combines my love of music with my love of film.   I did start thinking too much about it and whether we were to list five songs from the same soundtrack or each from a different movie.  I’m going with the latter for my interpretation and looking at it that whenever I hear the song, I immediately have a mental projection of the movie scene.  Always.  I’m also defining “soundtrack” as what’s scored with the movie and not limiting it to just what’s released on a CD as the official movie soundtrack.

**After compiling my list of songs/movies, I noticed what I took away from each of the scenes emotionally all encompassed sex, drugs, or violence.  I might just be worried about my psychological profile if I didn’t start tearing up every time those Humane Society commercials air.

1.  To Really Love a Woman – Bryan Adams from Don Juan Demarco.  Though the wording of Johnny Depp’s monologue borders on the inane, the delivery is muy caliente.  While he may be most well-known for off-beat quirky character portrayals, he can certainly be sex on a stick when he wants to be.

2.  La Cancion del Mariachi (Morena de Mi Corazon) – Antonio Banderas w/ Los Lobos from Desperado.  I’m sticking with the Latin theme from another song.  Between the bar scene with Quentin Tarantino/Cheech Marin and El Mariachi playing with Quino and Campa while breaking up a barfight without skipping a beat, Robert Rodriguez has one of the best opening movie sequences ever.

3.  Stuck in the Middle With You – Steelers Wheel from Reservoir Dogs.  Speaking of Quentin Tarantino, I don’t know how much of this scene with Mr. Blonde is due to his direction or Michael Madsen’s character portrayal of Mr. Blonde…but it is masterful.  The sadistic expression that comes across as Mr. Blonde dances around in anticipation of torturing the cop is impressive, especially considering the actor himself stated that he had difficulties performing the scene.

4.  Perfect Day – Lou Reed from Trainspotting.  I’m not a big fan of the overall movie.  Friends said I had to see it, so I did.  This one scene was brilliant for the use of the song and portraying the experience of an *altered state*, even when chaos may be the reality surrounding the user.  I wasn’t familiar with the song, but after hearing it in the movie, I couldn’t stop listening to it over and over again.

5.  Take the Power Back – Rage Against the Machine from Natural Born Killers. Though this song and “Bombastic” weren’t actually on the commercially released soundtrack CD, it was used in the movie.  I have this film to thank for my introduction to RATM.  So often music that’s used in the background of a pivotal scene like this gets lost for me, but I definitely took notice in this scene.

Dream signature

15 comments

  1. Louise

    Love that you chose one from Natural Born Killers – it almost made my list too – I still love that soundtrack! Also agree on the general lack of love for Trainspotting. I think we had a similar experience there – saw it because I felt I was suppose to… and can’t remember much of it anymore. Loved Stuck in the Middle With You as well. Great list!

    • Dream

      NBK was almost a no-brainer for me because of RATM. I figure Stuck in the Middle With You may make a few lists this week since its such the song is such a contrast to the scene. But then I wouldn’t love Tarantino movies quite as much if the music was any different.

      • cynkingfeeling

        I love “Stuck in the Middle with You” but have to confess that I have never seen “Reservoir Dogs.” I know, I know. I might as well confess I’ve never watched “Natural Born Killers” either. I get squeamish with violence.

  2. Clark Scottroger

    (I have a feeling), there will be a very high degree of commonality (or none at all) with this week’s selection. Hey, if I ever went into a movie theatre, I would have looked around and said, ‘holy shit! there’s…and over there and isn’t that?’

    • Dream

      I had thought so too, but from the posts I have seen so far, there’s only a few repeats. Everyone really seems to have a wide range of choices.

  3. Quickstepp

    So I saw your title and knew it was referencing Trainspotting and Lou Reed. And I got WAY too excited! This list pumped me up! So many good ones here!

  4. Dana

    I had to skip a few of those clips (squeamish), but the first two were fabulous. Why is a man with an accent so sexy? I guess it doesn’t hurt if he’s good looking and can sing too. I haven’t actually seen any of these movies, but I enjoyed the music!

  5. Rich Rumple

    Really a lot of great choices here. Wasn’t at all familiar with the movie Don Juan Demarco, so the soundtrack was missing, too. Interesting Bryan Adams selection. I’ve always been a fan of Natural Born Killers and it’s soundtrack. I loved Nine Inch Nails songs on it, as well as others. Never noticed this one wasn’t on the soundtrack. Good stuff all the way around. And, I definitely learned something. Great job!

    • Dream

      If I recall correctly, Trent Reznor produced the released soundtrack to NBK and wrote “Burn” specifically for the movie.

  6. Jen

    This is a great list, did you ever see the movie A Night In Heaven? The song Heaven by Bryan Adams was written for that movie, it’s about a male stripper?It is burned into my retinas!
    Other than that. Still love this list! Almost included Desparado, too! Great minds!

    • Dream

      I vaguely recalled it and remembered it had Christopher Atkins, but didn’t remember the Bryan Adams song. At least something good came from the movie. 😉