Southern Style

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:  Relaxing slow jams. You wanna chill, you want your friends to chill. Any genre from rock to jazz to hip-hop, but it’s gotta be slow-jams.

Slow jams, hmmm?  I had a bit of a conflict when trying to come up with this week’s theme-within-a-theme.  When I think of “slow jams” my mind usually goes straight to nookie-time tunes.  Not really the romantic stuff, but something more steamy.  Now, Jen’s instructions say slow jams are for relaxing and chilling with my buddies and I certainly wouldn’t wanna give them the wrong idea with “my” kind of slow jams.  So it took me a couple days to come up with something to post about because I was drawing a blank.

I had almost reluctantly settled for revisiting the blues genre.  Then like the V-8 commercials, I had a WTF? moment.  I had the perfect jams that were friend-appropriate and still remain true to my rock roots…Southern Rock.

1.  The Ballad of Curtis Loew – Lynyrd Skynyrd.  The first two slow Skynyrd songs that came to mind, I’ve used in past TMT posts and I’d have to turn in my amateur musicologist membership card if I started repeating songs so soon.  I’m glad I didn’t settle for the lighters-up-in-the-air obvious choice either because I had almost forgotten how much I really love this song.

2.  Midnight Rider – Allman Brothers Band.  I remember weekends (prior to meeting my husband) hanging out with friends after a day on the lake, grilling out and relaxing with a few cases of beer.  This is the type of music we’d have playing in the background on those perfect nights.  Just don’t get me started on how inappropriate it is that damn insurance company used this song to sell motorcycle insurance when two of the men singing it died in motorcycle accidents.

3.  Can’t You See – The Marshall Tucker Band.

4.  Highway Song – Blackfoot.

5.  Georgia Rhythm – Atlanta Rhythm Section.  Every year, Macon, GA celebrates the Cherry Blossom Festival and quite often ARS is one of the featured bands.  I was lucky enough to be able to see them a couple times when I lived there during the college years.  They remain one of my favorite southern rock bands even now.

Dream Sig 3

22 comments

  1. Slu

    Dreamer… Such memories with this List. Truly love the Blackfoot selection. Cannot ever go wrong with a Skynyrd tune. Period.

    Very nice, Slu

    • Dream

      Thanks Slu. One of my favorite southern rock songs is Blackfoot’s “Train, Train”, didn’t fit the theme, but Highway Song is just as good.

  2. Lance

    dude….my backyard and my boys. Love that your included Ga Rhythm, crack up my trusty Gibson, son.

    wonderful list

  3. Kari

    ack! you had me at “Can’t You See”!!! I love that song. It always reminds me of the movie “Blow” starring Johnny Depp (which, ironically, I mention & feature another song from the movie) on my TMTT. I just love that song… it almost nearly makes me cry every time I hear it.

  4. Linda Roy

    This list has my heart. Marshall Tucker…oh hell yeah and the Allmans. Love them to pieces. I’m a southern rock junkie. It’s all good on this list. All good!

  5. Kristi Campbell

    I love that you did the Southern Rock theme. So good. I actually saw the Allman Brothers in concert, many many years ago. A friend of mine’s parents had bought tickets and weren’t able to use them. I can’t believe that back then, I wasn’t more excited. I’d love to see them now. Great list!

    • Dream

      Yeah, there’s a lot of bands I love now that I wished I’d gotten to go see in their original forms (like the Allmans and Skynyrd).

  6. Clark Scottroger

    I think I wore out an album learning (one of) the guitar parts to ‘Spooky’ love those guys.

    Allman Brothers so much the quintessential southern rock… nice ‘get’ on the slow jams (without having to get overly urban or strange).
    nice list

    • Dream

      Thanks! To be honest, I think Spooky is one of my least favorites. Not that its not a great song, but I just like their other songs better.

  7. Rich Rumple

    Really a nice choice to go with Southern Rock! I hate I never go to see the Allman Brothers in their heyday, but Midnight Rider and Melissa have always been fav’s of mine. A little surprised you left out Long Haired Country Boy by the Charlie Daniels Band, but then, I probably would have also! 🙂 Well done!

    • Dream

      Thanks Rich! There were several southern bands I thought about including (ZZ Top/.38 Special, etc.) but I kinda focused on those from the southeast, mostly Jacksonville FL, GA and SC. I know its a fine line with southern bands, but I also tried to stick with those that were generally classified more rock than country.

  8. Tracy@CrazyAsNormal

    I feel the urge to kick back on my front porch and drink some sweet tea and fried chicken. Which I woulf totally do if I had a front porch and ate meat. I think I’ll go have some sweet tea though.

    • Dream

      I certainly always have sweet tea in my fridge. Though in the past years its morphed into sweet decaf green tea. Not quite as strong, but still good.

  9. DonettaS

    Absolutely love this playlist. My favorite by far this week!!! Curtis Lowe is good for the soul. Midnight Rider, Can’t You See, …………wow. What can I say that hasn’t been said? Other than we all still gather at the river on warm summer nights and listen to these songs. I still love a good mixed drink here and there. Just an awesome list. Very friend appropriate. 🙂

    • Dream

      Thanks so much! I could use a relaxing few hours at the lake or river with some good friends, some ice-cold beer and relaxing tunes.