Musical Mishmash

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:  Free for all!  Make a mix, any mix! Whatever speaks to you is AOK with me. Maybe you have a theme in your head, an idea to showcase. WHATEVER YOU WANT!

Really??  I need rules!  I need structure!  Its going to be chaos, I tell ya!  What happens when I have no guidance?  You get a truly twisted mixtape…of MASHUPS.

What exactly is a mashup?  In its very basic form, Its the combination of two or more songs to create something new.  It can be as simple as using the lyrics from one song to the music of another or some of the really talented artists may use 30+ songs combined together in a five minute masterpiece.  There are no genre boundaries and the only limits are in the creators’ imaginations, as you’ll see in some of my choices this week.

The mashup genre did actually exist before Glee drug them kicking and screaming out of the shadows and I’ve been a fan and collecting the “good” ones since about 2006.  PartyBen, Aggro1, AplusD are just a few of my early favorite artists, though most of those don’t have anything from their early works on YouTube to link to.  (I’m ignoring the legality issues of copyright infringement surrounding the creation of mashups because I’m a rebel like that, though I do have mixed feelings about it.)

1.  Dirty Rockk – Robin Skouteris.  Something I learned early on with mashups is to give them a chance and listen all the way through on the first pass.  I’m glad I did or I wouldn’t have given this one my full attention and I would have lost out on what is now my favorite.  I love listening to this one cranked up with headphones on to really hear some of the nuances of the mix.

2.  Whole Lotta Sabbath – Wax Audio.  This artist has compiled so many that I love that it was difficult choosing just one, so I included another in the Bonus section.  Wax Audio isn’t afraid to play with the classics or mix genres that at first don’t make sense, until they do (see song in bonus section for example).

3.  Mash Me Amadeus – DJ Schmolli.  Confession time, I actually like Falco’s Rock Me Amadeus to begin with.  When DJ Schmolli combined it with modern day (at the time) hip-hop, I loved it at first listen.

4.  Dirty Daft Queen – Loo & Placido.  Most mashup artists can be separated into studio artists and live performers, such as Loo & Placido.  They’ve been around and doing shows for several years, though I’ve never had the pleasure of seeing them live.

5.  Waiting for Bulletproof At First Sight – Marc Johnce.  Sometimes, mashups are the only way I can enjoy modern pop.  This is a good example of that.  On their own, I wouldn’t listen to any of the songs that went into making this choice.

BONUS:

6. Hot K-Pop 2009 Part II – DJ Masa.  Gimme a good beat and music and I don’t even have to understand the lyrics to enjoy a song.

7.  Maiden Goes to Bollywood – Wax Audio.  This is a fantastic example of mixing two genres that most people would be horrified at the thought.  But somehow…it works.

8.  Like, OMG Baby – DJ Earworm.  Here’s another pop monster mashup that I wouldn’t even consider listening to the songs on their own (like Ke$ha and Bieber).  DJ Earworm has a talent for combining massive mixes of pop songs that would intimidate many artists.

Dream Sig 3

19 comments

    • Dream

      You’re so right, I expose more of myself in my TMT posts than I do any other. Glad you liked the mashups, People usually have polar reactions to them, either love or hate, so I figured I was taking a chance with putting some out here.

  1. troy P.

    OK, “Dirty Rockk” was pretty genius, and not for nothing, but liking Falco’s “Rock Me Amadeus” isn’t so much a “confession,” as it is a Badge Of Honor – used here perfectly =)

    • Dream

      There were several Robin Skouteris pieces I could have chosen from that were great, but Dirty Rockk was definitely the best. Personally, I think he’s one of the best current mashup artists. He still puts out new mixes, but he is also doing video production and just did the video for a cover of King of Wishful Thinking by Letta.

      After the success of Mash Me Amadeus, DJ Schmolli went on to make a whole mashup “album” of Falco mixes. Like the Falco originals, I didn’t think they were as good,

  2. Quickstepp

    Sooo if you love mashups that rock, check out Girl Talk. He combines a lot of new rap (which I typically hate) with older rock and alt songs (which I love). The result is stellar and also makes for great workout music.

  3. Clark Scottroger

    how was I not informed of this ‘mashup’ thing?! lol I mean, of course, I heard the term used and for whatever reason assumed it referred to a remix of an artist’s own song… and maybe something like the RUN-D.M.C./Aerosmth ‘Walk this Way’ but this stuff lol I am clearly under-versed in the music out there! Given that I spend half of my car radio time tuned to the 2 college stations, I am painfully aware of not staying in touch (with the music).

    thank you…

    • Dream

      Because of the unclear copyright laws at the time, mashups in the early 2000’s stayed pretty much underground. There were a couple websites like GYBO and Mashuptown.com where artists could link to their new creations and the people that knew about the sites could go to get the downloads. Since then, the laws have gotten more defined as to what is and isn’t allowed, so radio stations can’t legally play them unless the artist can prove they have permission to use all the music in the mash.

  4. Lisa Nelson

    I’m with Clark. I’m so out of touch with music – unless it is Laurie Berkner or a teeny bopper. Haha! I can list some good theme songs though. 🙂

    You are so good.

    Thanks so much for sharing! Also for so much info on what a mashup is. Only thing I know, they make great Zumba songs.

    Have a great week!

    • Dream

      Mashups are one of the ways I keep up with current pop. Even though I don’t like much of it, I feel the need to keep up with it just to feed my information junkie habit.

  5. Ellen

    Ha! I debated using Falco (though Der Kommissar) in my list but went in chronological order instead so I opted for the Kraftwerk. I like listening to mashups but I often find I feel like it’s a quiz and I’ve failed if I can’t recognize all the samples.

    • Dream

      A lot of my favorite artists are now listing all the music they use in their mashes and through process of elimination, I can usually figure out what’s what. But I know what you mean about feeling like you’ve failed a test when I can’t figure one out. It drives me crazy.

    • Dream

      Awesome! I was a little nervous posting this genre since a lot of the hardcore music fans I’ve run across can’t stand mashups. I’ve been in quite a few debates about them destroying the purity of the artists intentions, etc.