Best of…

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic:  Pick a band, any band, and put together a “Best of” playlist.

You’d think this theme would be easy.  Jen said it would be easy and I quote “easy peasy for the holiday weekend”.  Jen lied.  Bad Jen.

I spent a lot of time just deciding who to highlight.  First I picked my velvet-voiced man, Luther, and ran into some depressing memories.  So I went the opposite direction and chose the gargles-with-gravel Tom Waits.  And it became completely impossible for me to decide on a “best of” that didn’t include his whole body of work.

I finally went to my Rock n’ Roll roots and decided upon…wait for it….Best of Led Zeppelin (that isn’t Stairway to Heaven).  Why not include Stairway to Heaven?  I decided my Best Of… mixtape is completely subjective and filtered through my personal preferences, not popular opinion, record sales, or Top 100 lists.  And I may get my rock-card revoked for saying this, but Stairway to Heaven is not in my Led Zepplin top five.  Here’s MY best of Led Zeppelin (in order).

1.  Kashmir

2.  Immigrant Song

3.  All My Love

4.  Babe I’m Gonna Leave You

5.  Good Times Bad Times

Dream Sig 3

8 comments

  1. Clark Scottroger

    Good Times Bad Times…. the first of the (very) loud rock and roll music. The various labels and categories has not been established but anyone (of our age) at the time knew that this was different. Different from everything including the (established British Invasion bands)…it was music where the volume was the best part of the song, not an audio engineering problem to be dealt with… damn I really like the music that summer.

  2. Lance

    awesome

    the only thing missing is Communication Breakdown (a song I can kinda sorta play on guitar). Zeeplin is one of my favorites. I listen to them often.

  3. Jen

    Where’s Tangerine!!! I want Tangerine!!
    BTW I know about the topic, so sorry. It was really hard for me too, thanks for toughing it out!

  4. Slu

    Dreamer… Excellent Choices!!! #4 is one of my all time fave’s. Glad you left STH off. Choice list without it. Thanks, Slu