Don’t Get Mad…Get Even

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend of songs of music that says either You Suck or I Suck.

Over my lifetime, there’s been many a time that I’ve sucked and I usually knew what I was doing was wrong at the time. I tried not to suck.  I really did.  Sometimes though, it just couldn’t be avoided.  But I’ve lived with my past, come to terms with it and prefer not to dwell on it.  So I’m going with You Suck songs this week.  But what about when someone just sucks so bad that you can’t just turn your back and let it go?

Since becoming a mom 11 years ago, I’ve mellowed out a bit and I’ve adopted more of a “Living well is the best revenge” attitude.  I just sit back and let karma do my dirty work. But in my past, if I was done wrong, me saying “You Suck!” would be the very least of your worries.  My motto was Don’t Get Mad, Get Even.  So, I’m going to focus on “yeah, you suck and here’s what I’m gonna do about it”.

1.  If Looks Could Kill – Heart.  My first experience with this song was actually the original disco-pop version by Pamela Stanley, but the rockin’ Heart cover really fits the payback mode better.  I’ve been told I have one of those “looks” that when translated, means “You better run.”

2.  Bust Your Windows – Jazmine Sullivan.  Now, I’ve never actually taken a baseball bat or crowbar to someone’s vehicle, but damn, that’d be some sweet revenge.

3.  Bitch With A Bad Attitude – Saffire the Uppity Blues Women.  I just love these ladies.  “You sewed a lot of bitch seeds, now its harvest time.”

4.  She Took It Like a Man – Confederate Railroad.  I’m not an overly enthusiastic country music fan, but I was once played this song and told it could have been written about me.  And I had to agree.

5.  Cell Block Tango – Chicago.  Then there are times when nothing short of homicide will do.  But it was justifiable…really.  He had it coming.

Dream Sig 3

33 comments

    • Dream

      I like country with humor and the video just added to it. There were a few country bands around this general time period that I liked (Confederate Railroad, Kentucky Headhunters) that just had a certain “feel” to their songs that resonated with me.

    • Dream

      I was thinking the same thing as I was putting together this post and then forgot to see if it was on Netflix. Maybe now I’ll remember (not likely).

    • Dream

      I think Jazmine’s video shows (more than the song itself) that thinking of all the ways you can get revenge on someone that’s done you wrong is better for you emotionally. And that one simple (and classier) act of payback can be more devastating to the cheater than a house full of property damage.

  1. Kelly @ Dysfunctionally Functional

    I just realized, seeing that Jazmine song on your list, that most of the music of “today” that I’m familiar with is because of Glee…and to a lesser, more recent, extent, Pitch Perfect. I’m such a weirdo!

    Great list. Loved your wrap-up…Chicago is one of my favorites!

    • Dream

      That’s exactly where I heard it first (the car wash scene–when I still watched it) and I had to immediately hunt down the original.

  2. Quickstepp

    “Sometimes only homicide will do”. It would be a permanent “fix”. And sometimes a life in prison sounds preferable to dealing with certain people.

    • Dream

      Thanks Lance! It was supposed to be an escalation, but I put the Confederate Railroad in the wrong place. First, you give them the Look. Then you cuss them out and throw shit. The you wonder why you’re messing up your own things and start trashing theirs. Then you wreck their livelihood and life and then its time for the final solution.

      All in good fun…of course.

  3. Jen

    Lady, I had a feeling about you. I’m glad I’m on your good side. Right? I am? These were some excellent choices, and a great variety! I totally forgot Bust Your Windows! So much classier than Miranda!

    • Dream

      Exactly, my view was that I wasn’t the sort to curl up in a ball and cry out my emotions, but to do something about it first, then deal with any “feelings” that might still be lingering about.

  4. Kristi Campbell

    “You sewed a lot of bitch seeds, now it’s harvest time” has to be one of the best lines, ever. Plus, I’ve never heard that song before so thank you!

  5. Amy (My Real Life)

    Hmmm…I’ve found Heart on at least one person’s list every week since I started participating. Maybe they were musical geniuses who knew that someday, this is how their music would get resurrected! 🙂

    • Dream

      I think a lot of their popularity for mixtapes is simply because of their longevity of four decades of folk and rock hits makes them easily memorable. My personal opinion is maybe not musical geniuses, but definitely talented.

  6. DonettaS

    I love your list. I really dig that Confederate Railroad song. It’s funny you were talking about mellowing out, because I posted Mental Revenge with Jamey Johnson covering the song. I’m not big on new country, but he has an original sound. This is great.