Saturday 9: Easy Lover

Welcome to Saturday: 9. What we’ve committed to our readers is that we will post 9 questions every Saturday. Sometimes the post will have a theme, and at other times the questions will be totally unrelated. Those weeks we do “random questions,” so-to-speak. We encourage you to visit other participants posts and leave a comment. Because we don’t have any rules, it is your choice. We hate rules. We love memes, however, and here is today’s meme!

1) This song is about a heartbreaker who just can’t commit. Have you ever fallen for an “easy lover?”  I’ve fallen for one and I may have been one myself a time or two.

2) This song is one of Crazy Sam’s “earwigs.” Each time she hears it, it bores in and stays in her head forever! (Hear it here, if you dare!) Do you have a song like that?  Several, right now, I’m stuck on Little Willie John’s I’m Shakin and Wayne Toups’ version of Tupelo Honey.

3) Both Phil Collins and Philip Bailey* have stars on The Hollywood Walk of Fame. Have you ever visited Hollywood?  No, the closest I got to visiting the west coast was a four-hour layover in LAX on the way overseas.

4) Hollywood is the movie capital of the world. What’s the last movie you saw in the theater?  I took my son to see the most recent Ice Age (3 or 4, I don’t remember) at the end of last summer, I think it was.

5) Phil Collins was a child actor in his native England, appearing onstage in musicals like Oliver! Can you think of another child performer who went on to entertainment industry success as an adult?   Ron Howard, little Opie done good.

6) Philip Bailey joined Earth, Wind & Fire while still in college, so he’s been a performer throughout his working life, as well. Have you ever been tempted to try your hand at show biz?  Never, I don’t have those kinds of talents.

7) Is there a profession that you never, under any circumstances, want to try?  Spider wrangling?  Port-a-potty cleaner?  and yeah, the entertainment industry.

8) What are you looking forward to right now?  Just for this day to be over (as I’m writing this in between batches of the six DOZEN biscuits I’m baking for an all-day “event” my husband hosts at our house every year.)

9) Do you suffer from trypanophobia (fear of needles/injections)? Or can you bravely donate blood or get a shot, without freaking out? No, needles don’t bother me at all, though several thousand of them flying at me might invoke a bit of a reaction.

*Well, Earth Wind & Fire has a star.

Dream Sig 3

13 comments

  1. The Gal Herself

    Oh. My. GAWD! Until this very moment it never occurred to me that anyone had to actually CLEAN the portapotties. Now I’m with you — that’s one job I never, never, ever want to do!

  2. Lance

    I like anything EW&Fire related. But I’m out on Phil Collins. I’m one of those Genesis was good with Peter Gabriel, sucked without him, snobs.

    Can you come over with those biscuits? kkthxbai

    • Dream

      Except for one, maybe two songs, I’m ambivalent when it comes to Phil Collins and Genesis both. I wouldn’t turn them off, but I wouldn’t request them either. Honestly, I’m not really familiar with their songs prior to Gabriel leaving.

      Those biscuits were gone practically before I got the serving trays set on the tables. I was lucky to make a getaway from the frenzy with all my limbs in tact. People go crazy when there’s free food involved.

  3. Kimberly

    Oh, and LAX of all places. That’s my home airport and it is THE worst I’ve ever been in. Sorry about that layover. 🙂
    That’s a pretty bad job for sure. And I completely forgot about Ron Howard. That’s a good one.

  4. Diana

    I wanted Ice Age with my grandnieces, the nice thing you can pretend you are only watching the movie because of the kids but I really enjoyed it.