What Was Your Name Again?

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend of songs of music that espouses relationships with no strings attached, what would it contain?

I won’t lie…in my single days, I was a big fan of one-night or no-strings-attached liaisons.  One job I had required me to be on-call 24/7 which made normal dating difficult what with frequent cancelled plans, middle of the night emergency technical calls and being unable to be more than 30 minutes away from the office at any given time.  It was just easier to avoid relationships and that ended up developing into a pattern for me even after I left that job.

While most of my partners understood my modus operandi, I always wondered what other people’s reasons were for that type of association?  Loneliness, secret emotions, or something even more secretive.  So my theme this week is songs that explore the deeper reasonings of a one-night stand.

1.  Sharing the Night Together – Dr. Hook.  I’ve always had a fondness for this group and glad I finally got the chance to use one of my favorite songs of theirs.

2.   If Only For One Night – Luther Vandross.  It seems I can’t quit with the covers now, but this is my favorite version of this song and it has some pretty strong emotional memories tied up with it from my past.

3.  We’ve Got Tonight – Bob Seger.  Loneliness seems to be a prevalent theme with quite a few of the no-strings songs I chose from.

4.  All I Wanna Do (Is Make Love To You) – Halestorm.  I know Heart’s version will probably make an appearance or two on quite a few lists, but I’m a sucker for this one.

5.  One Night Love Affair – Bryan Adams.  Here’s another one that seems to say, “I’ll settle for one night, but what if it could be more?”

Dream Sig 3

23 comments

    • Dream

      I like the Bob Seger, I really do. But its always seemed so…bleak. To me, one-night stands were adventurous and exhilarating.

  1. Lance

    Love the last two, especially. When I saw your title, I started thinking “What’s Your Name, little Girl?” by Skynyrd.

    good work, my friend

    • Dream

      Another one I should have thought of. I’m gonna blame it on the massive levels of antihistamines fogging my brain and interfering with my music recollection.

  2. Kari

    Bryan Adams! Yes! If anything this hop is doing to me today is making me smack my head saying “Why didn’t I think of that one!?!?”

    Great list!

  3. troy P.

    Damn – I was really off my game this week! How could I have forgotten Bryan Adams? I mean, hell, the prompt is almost right up there in the song’s title even!

  4. Darla @ Mom's World

    Bryan Adams even went down the one-night stand path? I thought he was a good ol’ boy. I can’t stand that Bob Seger song, but it seems quite popular throughout the blogs so far. Great mix! 🙂

    • Dream

      I thought the Bryan Adams was just a simple one-night thing too at first, but he kinda hints that he has deeper feelings. I like to think he eventually sacked up and told her.

    • Dream

      I feel that way on a weekly basis when I see some of the artists everyone spotlights. I think we each bring something different to the table to make one big fantastic mix.

  5. Kristi Campbell

    I really like Halestorm’s version as well. Also, to your early question – I loved one-night-stands when I was younger. I think I just liked the thrill and didn’t want to be bothered with having an actual boyfriend. Or maybe I was just a skank. Hard to say.

    • Dream

      I think we’re in the minority according to most of the other posts I’ve read. Relationships almost always take work and I wasn’t at a point for that in my life. I’m a one-man skank now…or “overly qualified for my current position”. 😉

  6. Jen

    You know what, this is perfect. Just perfect. The whole idea of a mixtape is to have a theme, right? Couldn’t have done it better. I didn’t do it better. You win the prize this week! 100 pennies!

    • Dream

      Thanks! I like themes, they help me focus and narrow my choices. 100 pennies! In the words of my son, “I’m riiiich!”

  7. Jaclyn

    Ooooh, fun list! I’d have to have “Booty Call” by G. Love, and I second your “All I Wanna Do” choice — that song just rocks 🙂 (True story: Up until about two years ago, i thought the lyric was, “He broke a hole into me so many times easily!!!” And it always made me say, “… Um, ow.”)