Cover to Cover, Part 2

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend, what would it contain? This is NOT a best ofIf You Were Making A Mix Tape For A Friend (on any topic) What Would It Be?

I usually wait until Tuesday mornings to post my TMT, but sadly, vacation is over and I’ll be climbing in the car at the butt-crack of dawn to drive the 400 miles back home with a 10-year old alternating between “How much further to…?”, “How much longer to…?”, and “Can I have…?” for 8+ hours in a too-small vehicle behind ass-monkeys that drive 15 miles under the speed limit in the passing lane.  Do I sound enthusiastic?

I decided to feature cover songs made in the 2000’s in last week’s Mixtape, Cover to Cover.  I had too many favorites last week, so I split it up into two posts to cover the two weeks of the 2000’s.  This week, I was also able to include those made between 2010-2013.

1.  Pony – Far (2008).

2.  Bad Company – Five Finger Death Punch (2010 release).

3.  Take Me Home Tonight – Hinder (2005).

4.  Come Together – Godsmack (2012).

5.  Don’t Stop the Music – Jamie Cullum (2009).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To all my fellow music lovers that participate in Twisted MixTape Tuesday, I wanted to share some information I got earlier this week.  I did a post previously about some free online classes I was taking (Teaching Old Dogs) through a site called Coursera.  They will be starting a class called History of Rock, Part I on September 2, 2013.  The course runs for seven weeks and I’ve heard really good things about it.  You don’t need any type of musical education or background and if it follows the course schedule of earlier this year, it will be followed by History of Rock, Part II.  I had wanted to take the courses myself, but missed the first few weeks of Part I.

Just create a Coursera login and signup for the class.  You’ll receive an email when the coursework page is available.  You can commit however much or little you want to the class.  You can follow the lectures at your own pace and you aren’t required to take the weekly quizzes or final exam unless you want the Statement of Accomplishment Certificate.  There is an optional textbook (either purchased in hardcopy or e-format) written by the professor and assignments for each weekly unit.

The professor, John Covach, is a Fulbright scholar and is currently with the University of Rochester.  He holds a Master’s and PhD in Music Theory and Composition and still tours with groups and as a solo artist when not performing his academic duties.

Also, I have been assimilated into the Twitter Collective.  Check me out…my widget’s in the right column!

Dream Sig 3

16 comments

  1. Lance

    so glad you joined the Twitter. There’s no turning abck now.

    I like the hard take on the list. Those first three songs are really punchy and fun.

    solid list

    • Dream

      Yet another time-sink that will prove beyond a doubt the strange routes my mind takes from point A through point W to get to point B.

      I messed up my song order putting Jamie Cullum last, kinda like falling off a cliff.

  2. Kristi Campbell

    OOOH Twitter, here she comes! I’m following you. Hey also, good luck on your roadtrip. That sounds like hell. I mean that sounds like a really fun “see the country” with the youngster thing. I hope it’s traffic and whine free! And God, I love Godsmack.

    • Dream

      Thanks for the follow and we made it home with a minimum of stress. Thankfully, we only do that by ourselves a couple times a year.

  3. JenKehl

    I love so much that you do twisted mixtape because you and I have such completely different tastes in music. I am so totally open to other people’s music preferences and have basically never heard so much of what you post. I love that you rock hard, and I love that you love it. Thanks for balancing me out!

  4. Clark Scottroger

    (the) Godsmack was a lead pipe cinch (for me)… but the first song Pony? totally enjoyed it (what’s with the 21st C anyway? the element of …carnality is fairly impressive (not that I’m complaining…)

    Seeing Godsmack all over the TMT today…now wishing I had extended my list. well, as long as the rest of you guys got it covered.

    twitter is still a bit beyond me ( I still find myself trying to write an email when I try texting…)

    • Dream

      I think the Godsmack is one of my favorites out of this week’s covers. They tried to keep it in the Beatles’ style, but updated to their own sound.

  5. Slu

    Wow… so enjoyed Bad Company, Come Together, & # 5 on your list. Very sweet covers. Absolute Fave was Godsmack!!! Very Nice… Slu

    • Dream

      Thanks Slu. There’s something about that one Jamie Cullum cover that I just can’t get enough of, even though I’m not a fan of most of his work.

  6. troy P.

    Thanks so much for the History of Rock info (if only had I the time!), and I agree with Slu – #5 was a pretty danged cool listen!

    • Dream

      Welcome and if you’re truly interested in the class, it doesn’t eat up much time. I think this one is only estimating a couple hours a week.

      • troy P.

        It does sound good, but between full time job, divorce, part time job, school and still trying to see my kids before they forget I exist (their mother is working real hard on that), I’m just about tapped this go ’round =)

        • Dream

          If this year is an indicator, they offer the series a couple times a year so maybe you can catch a future session.

    • Dream

      Thanks, I sent you a follow request. Jamie Cullum did another cover, Everlasting Love, but I don’t think its as good as this one.