Saturday 9: I’m a Believer

Welcome to Saturday: 9. What we’ve committed to our readers is that we will post 9 questions every Saturday. Sometimes the post will have a theme, and at other times the questions will be totally unrelated. Those weeks we do “random questions,” so-to-speak. We encourage you to visit other participants posts and leave a comment. Because we don’t have any rules, it is your choice. We hate rules. We love memes, however, and here is today’s meme!

Thanks to Cie for recommending the Monkees.

1) This song is about a guy who fell in love when he saw her face. Do you believe in love at first sight?  Lust at first sight, definitely.  Love, no.  I believe it takes time and effort to develop the deeper feelings and really “knowing” someone enough to call it love.

2) “I’m a Believer” is the best-selling Monkees song. Can you name another one?   Last Train to Clarksville.

3) On their TV show, the boys competed for the same girl. Have you and a friend ever been romantic rivals?  I wouldn’t consider us rivals because of my own personal ethics or “girl code”.  I never pursued a guy once a friend expressed an interest in them.

4) In another episode, the Monkees visited the circus. If you were confident there was a good strong net beneath you, would you walk across the high wire?  No, I’m afraid of falling and my balance sucks.

5) The Monkees show originally aired on Monday nights. Do you have a favorite day of the week?  Not really.  Since becoming a stay-home mom/wife, one day pretty much just runs into another, especially during summer when there’s no weekly structure due to school.

6) Davy Jones guest starred on an episode of The Brady Bunch. The plot revolved around Marcia’s efforts to get him to perform at the prom. Share one of your memories from a school dance.  Other than “learning” to dance in gym class, I didn’t attend any official dances until I got to college.  The most memorable was a Sock Hop…it was fun to dress for and I enjoyed the early rock music.  (We did have some high school graduation events at Disney World and Busch Gardens that had bands, but I don’t really consider those “dances”.)

7) At the height of their popularity, the Monkees’ faces and logo appeared on a lot of merchandise, including lunch boxes. Which would you rather have for lunch — chicken salad, tuna salad or egg salad?  If I’m at home and I know its fresh from the refrigerator and not heading down the spoilage spectrum, then egg salad.

8) You have an afternoon all to yourself. Would you rather spend it at the mall, checking out what’s new in the stores and people watching, or walking through the forest, observing the birds and trees and leaves?  Neither, I hate malls and the outdoors equally, but if I HAVE to pick one, the mall because I’m likely to come home with something nice instead of bug bites.

9) Do you have a good memory for names?  Not for meeting people and then later being able to put their names to their faces.  I do with names of places or music.  I suppose that kinda shows the amount of importance I place on those things in my life.

Dream Sig 3

21 comments

  1. Bex

    I have a ridiculously good memory for music-associated names (bands, songs, etc). I didn’t even think of that. Good answer 🙂

    • Dream

      I can’t remember the first name of a neighbor I’ve lived next to for 12 years, but I can remember Kajagoogoo sang a one-hit wonder 30 years ago. Its pretty pitiful.

  2. Kelly @ Dysfunctionally Functional

    I’m with you on the one-day-running-into-another thing. TV shows are the only way I can keep track, and I don’t really watch all that much TV! Even my husband’s work schedule is wacky, so it doesn’t help. 🙂

    Happy weekend!

    • Dream

      I think my mall hate began when I noticed the level of rudeness exhibited by most people there. The “Do you have a moment Ma’am?” attacks by the “employees” of the kiosks in the middle that didn’t seem to take “No” for an answer. Or the roaming teen packs that walk in a line across the aisles going the opposite direction of most of the walking traffic that insult you or give you dirty looks when you can’t get out of their way fast enough. No, the only time I’ll venture into a mall is mornings when I know the brats are in school…or if its a choice between the mall and the forest.

  3. Lance

    I wrote something for Sprocket Ink when Davy Jones died and it got a pretty good response. http://sprocketink.com/the-artful-dodger-the-cute-monkee-marcias-prom-date-dies-at-age-66/

    For not being a real band, at least at first, The Monkees worked with great songwriters and put out some memorable singles. I like Clarkesville too. I had a chance to share a beer with Steve Jones in 2003 after a Sex Pistols reunion show and I asked him if it was true he was a Monkees fan was a young kid and he laughed it off but didn’t deny it. Supposedly he learned to play a guitar from some of their songs.

    anyway, good post

    • Dream

      That was a great article Lance, thanks for the link. I can’t really identify with the hordes of tweeny-boppers from in the 60’s through the “Beliebers” of today going nucking-futz over a cute face with a record deal simply because I never had that type of mindset during that period of my life. I just don’t “get it”. I’m more about the music than the mania I guess.

  4. Kwizgiver

    I like your last answer–I have a hard time with new names but can recall actors and actresses, authors, songs, and other things like that.

    • Dream

      Sad thing is that I probably could remember them better if I put any effort into it. If its someone I’ll probably never see again, the name doesn’t even register with me.

    • Dream

      Thanks, its not really “my” Saturday 9, but you can click on the Saturday 9 graphic, or the link above the questions to be directed to the Saturday 9 website. She usually posts the questions Friday afternoon/evening (EST).