Cover to Cover

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend, what would it contain? This is NOT a best of. This is If You Were You, in the 2000′s, and You Were Making A Mix Tape For A Friend (on any topic) What Would It Be?

As we’ve moved through the musical decades over the past couple months, I’ve tried to pick genres of music that I had a strong connection with.  That changed in the new millennium, I still enjoyed some of the rock and hip hop that was being produced, but I had no love for most of the “pop”.

I began filling in my musical education of the previous decades through a love of covers and remixes.  I learned to look at them mostly based on their own merits and what I felt the artists were attempting to achieve.  Sometimes they are heavily influenced and try to stay true to the original.  Other times, the artists make the song theirs and change it completely to their own style.  I think my personal favorites are those that cross genres:  pop tunes done hip hop, ballads cranked up to heavy metal and so on.

I have an extensive collection of these types of song, not even including mashups which I’ll deal with some other time.  Its not uncommon for me to have 10 different versions of some of my favorite songs (like All Along the Watchtower).  My biggest problem with this post was narrowing it down.  I originally limited my list to just those produced in the 2000’s and started making selections of those worthy of a mixtape.  I ended up with almost 75 songs.  I mentally played around with those and thought to narrow it down to covers of a certain artist or group (maybe Michael Jackson or ABBA).  But that was too restrictive and left out some really excellent tunes.  I finally resigned myself to using both weeks of the 2000’s mixtape for covers.

I’m currently on vacation, so there’s not a whole lot of commentary or stories associated with my choices this week.  Also, my posts were written before I left (and in a much more coherent order), so I had to do a quick edit this morning to try to separate the 2010-2013 covers out for next week, per Jen’s instructions.

1.  Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic – Ra (2005).

2.  In the Air Tonight – Nonpoint (2004).  This version was on their 2004 album, but received no attention until it was used for the new Miami Vice movie (2006).

3.  Rebel Yell – Drowning Pool (2007).  I debated over this cover and the one by  Black Veil Brides (2011) for days.  I finally decided I still liked Drowning Pool’s better.

4.  Simple Man – Shinedown (2004).  I think this acoustic guitar cover managed to catch the emotion of the original Lynyrd Skynyrd version fantastically.

5.  Phantom of the Opera – Nightwish (2002).   Finnish symphonic metal band.  Also did a fantasic version of Gary Moore’s Over the Hills and Far Away.

Dream Sig 3

17 comments

    • Dream

      Its almost sacrilege for a Southern person to say this, but I think I like Shinedown’s Simple Man better than Skynyrd’s. (waiting to be stoned to death with moonpies and RC colas)

    • Dream

      I originally heard the NonPoint version on the TV trailer for the movie (even though I didn’t see the movie until a couple years later) and went searching for it online.

  1. quickstepp

    Finnish. Symphonic. Metal band. Words I’ve never uttered as a group. Dig the cover. I listened to the Phantom of the Opera soundtrack way too many times to count as a kid (thanks music teacher!) so this was a really cool listen.

    • Dream

      One of my roommates in college was training to be an opera singer at the time Phantom began on Broadway. I know every note and nuance of every song since she played it so much. I immediately loved Nightwish’s version when I heard it since it fits my rock preference.

  2. Kristi Campbell

    How cool that you used all covers for this week’s! I’ve never heard that version of Rebel Yell but I really like it. And considering how much I was in love with the original, that’s a good thing! They did a great job. Thanks for sharing, and I hope you enjoy your vacation!

    • Dream

      I loved the original too. Something I just found out is that a lot of these covers were used during sound-checks before their concerts and they became so popular they were finally included on an album.

  3. Jen

    Fantastic way to do this list! Bravo! Love that version of In The Air Tonight more than the original!

    • Dream

      That’s one of the things I love about the covers done differently from their originals…they feed different musical cravings.

  4. Clark Scottroger

    very cool…agree about the covers approach.
    (In fact, I almost followed that path this week, a little more in the sunshine, perhaps lol)… I do have Black Dog (but I wonder if it can be called a cover if one of the original musicians Robert Plant being in it and all). But I almost had Big Yellow Taxi cover and a (Tesla) cover of ‘I’ve Got A Feeling’

    Liked you list.
    (Hey I got ‘dibs’ on ‘Sugar’ for next week! lol)

    • Dream

      I saw Black Dog in your list and added it to my collection. No ‘Sugar’ in my selections for next week, so you’re safe and I’m looking forward to hearing it.

  5. Pingback: Cover to Cover, Part 2 | I Dream of White Rooms