Sunday Dinner: Macaroni and Cheese

MacaroniAndCheese

~photo courtesy of uhaweb.hartford.edu

Here’s a favorite recipe of mine* which is said to taste like the Cracker Barrel Macaroni and Cheese.  I haven’t had their version in several years, so I can’t verify its similarity, but I can attest that its delicious.  Its a great addition to family meals or pot luck suppers.  This makes approximately 4 large servings and can be altered to use as a main dish by adding chopped ham cubes or cooked ground beef.

Macaroni and Cheese

Ingredients:

3/4 cup elbow macaroni

2-1/4 cup whole milk

3 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

3 Tablespoons salted butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

2-1/2 cups shredded cheese (I like using 2 cups Colby to 1 cup sharp cheddar for the flavoring, but a Colby or Colby-Jack mix was what the original recipe called for.)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your broiler (high setting).
  2. Cook macaroni until tender (either on stove or in the microwave) and drain.
  3. Melt butter in a cast iron skillet (or other oven safe pan) over medium heat.  Add in flour and keep stirring until bubbly.
  4. Add milk, salt, and pepper.  Stir until milk starts to bubble.
  5. Add cheese and turn off the heat.  Keep stirring the sauce until the cheese melts and has a smooth consistency.
  6. Stir in the macaroni and broil for 2-3 minutes until the tops of the noodles begin to slightly brown.
  7. Remove from the oven and let it sit for 5-10 minutes.  The sauce will thicken as it sits.

*A lot of my recipes have either been handed down for generations, I picked them up somewhere prior to my active involvement on the internet, or they’ve been passed around my social circle.  I don’t know where many of them (such as this one) originated, but if I did, I would certainly give credit. 

Dream Sig 3

2 comments

    • Dream

      I don’t remember their Mac n’ Cheese because I always get a double side of their Hashbrown Casserole, but I’ve heard its delicious. If its like the recipe, then its a definite yum.