Saturday 9: Endless Summer

Welcome to Saturday: 9. What we’ve committed to our readers is that we will post 9 questions every Saturday. Sometimes the post will have a theme, and at other times the questions will be totally unrelated. Those weeks we do “random questions,” so-to-speak. We encourage you to visit other participants posts and leave a comment. Because we don’t have any rules, it is your choice. We hate rules. We love memes, however, and here is today’s meme!

Thanks to Kwizgiver for recommending The Beach Boys.

1) The best-selling Beach Boys album of all time is this two disc greatest hits compilation. Do you have favorite Beach Boys song?  Not really.  When I’m in the mood for this type of music they all sound good.

2) The original members of the group were the Wilson brothers, their cousin Mike and a friend from the neighborhood. Have you ever worked with a family member?  No, which is a good thing.  I set very high standards for myself in the workplace and if I worked with a family member that didn’t do the same, it would affect my opinion and thus my relationship with them.

3) Originally released in the mid-1970s, Endless Summer was one of the first fast-selling albums sold on TV. Have you ever picked up the phone and purchased anything directly from TV?  Yes.  I bought one of the Time CD sets of 50’s and 60’s music for my mother last year.

4) The Beach Boys are very popular in Australia. Have you ever been Down Under?  No, I’ve wanted to though.  When I moved back to the States from Asia I originally planned a few days layover in Australia, but had to change plans at the last minute and ended up spending the time in Hawaii.

5) Actor John Stamos played bongos on the Beach Boys’ hit, “Kokomo.” In his younger days, Stamos was Blackie on the daytime drama, General Hospital. Have you ever followed a soap opera?  It was actually because of “Blackie” that I started watching General Hospital when I was in high school.  My best friend watched and told me about the “cute guy”.  I developed a big crush on John Stamos at that point.  I still think he’s incredibly handsome and I watch him now on Necessary Roughness.

6) Many Beach Boys songs revolve around the surf. How are you on a surf board?  I’ve never tried it, but probably not very good since my balance is barely good enough to walk without running into walls.

7) Would you prefer summer to be endless? Or do you enjoy the changing seasons?  No, summer is probably my least favorite due to heat, bugs and school summer vacation.  My favorite is fall, but I could be happy eliminating summer all together and just having fall, winter and spring.

8) Do your summer 2013 plans include a trip to a waterpark?  No.  My summer plans include hibernating in my A/C cooled house with minimal trips to the outdoors, other than the mandatory birthday journey to see my mom in a week.

9) Describe your swimsuit.  Invisible.  I don’t own one anymore.

Dream Sig 3
10 comments

    • Dream

      He doesn’t get a whole lot of screen time, but he’s still eye candy. I hope his role increases with time.

    • Dream

      Yes, they’ve grown from the 2 minutes commercials to 30 minutes to one hour infomercials. It was after my mom sat and watched 45 minutes of one, reminiscing about dating my dad and their early life together, that I took the hint and ordered it for her.

  1. The Gal Herself

    I didn’t know John Stamos was back on TV! Couldn’t stand him on Full House but then, that was a stupid show. I pay an inordinate amount of attention to his yogurt commercials. 🙂

    • Dream

      Oh yes, its on the USA Network, Wednesday nights 10 p.m. (EST). I didn’t watch too much Full House either for some reason. Those yogurt commercials certainly do play on his hotness factor. He kind of reminds me of Ian Somerhalder, though he goes for the smoldering factor while John Stamos has succeeded more with the cute/funny parts.

  2. Jak

    Oh lordie you Stamos lovers. He is pretty cute I suppose. Aged well. I watch a TON of Full House, though I sometimes found the Olson twins and the kids in general to be a bit annoying. I always thought it was crazy seeing Saget on that show, but then hearing the type of stand-up comedy he does. Almost night/day. I wonder where all those annoying girls are at now… especially the twins… may change my tune.

    Speaking of which, Necessary Roughness sounds befitting to indulge all those “crush” fantasies 🙂

    I’m also a very “Fall” person. Summers kick my ass and I need the AC. I’d much rather be cold (needing to get warm) than hot. Mix in some crazy high humidity and it’s a recipe for disaster!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • Dream

      I was a bit shocked myself when I heard Bob Saget’s standup after only seeing him on Full House. Very opposite end of the spectrum.

      You couldn’t have said it better. I’d much rather it be cold and snuggled under my fuzzy blanket than sweating.