My Son Said…

As my 10-year old son was preparing to go to bed the other night he was in the living room in just a t-shirt and his underwear.  The following is the conversation between him and his daddy:

Daddy jokes:  Do your drawers have streaks?  (must be a male thing)

Son (turning around and showing his dark colored underwear with horizontal pinstripes):  No, mine have stripes.

Daddy:  Well how’d you get that to happen?

Son:  I dunno…I must have talented poop.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Son:  I want to watch the show with the little girl.

Me:  What show?

Son:  The one where the she farts.

It finally dawned on me after seeing one of the promos that he’s talking about the freakshow that goes by the name of Here Comes Honey Boo Boo (or something like that).  I feel my IQ points drop every time the ad comes on.  The only draw I can see to watching that show is for someone to feel better about their own life and family.  Its the popularity of programs like this that convince me that we as a society are moving one step closer to Idiocracy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Me:  Ready for dinner?

Son:  What’s my choices?

Me:  Grilled cheese or hot dogs.

Son:  What’s my other choice?

Me:  Grilled cheese or hot dogs.

Son:  Neither, I’m not hungry.

(20 minutes later)

Son:  What’s for dinner?

Dream Sig 3

13 comments

      • Surprise Mama

        Yes, I am sure that is an issue. I feel like, the key to parenting for me is patience, and mine has not really been tested yet, but oh boy, I know it will be

        • Dream

          Patience is definitely the key and I didn’t enter motherhood with much to begin with. Developing a condition that stress aggravated just as my son turned 6 forced me to become more zen…fast. I still have quick temper days, but I can recognize it early and give myself a timeout.

  1. Lance

    My girls are almost 9 almost 10 AND 17 so they watch Pretty Little Liars, Separated at Birth and various older kids shows on Disney and Nick. The conversations are shocking but more in vein of ways that make me have heart attacks every day.

    • Dream

      I’m thankful my son’s TV interest is limited to the XBox and Wii, with the occasional Spongebob Squarepants. At 10 yrs. old he’s a bit more immature in his preferences than most of his friends and I’m okay with that. I don’t have to endure superheroes and transformers, yet. And I don’t have to watch Honey Boo Boo, Duck Dynasty or Hillbilly Handfishing.

    • Dream

      It was one of those moments my husband and I just looked at each other and did that facial dance where you try not to laugh. We both lost it.

  2. Jak

    I couldn’t comment on “You Gotta Fight…” 😦 So hopefully I can figure it out later, or I will just comment on the upcoming mixed tape post.

    I love the things kids say. Not that it is a good reason to have kids, but it’s one of the perks, in my opinion lol I’m not sure sure how awesome it balances out all of the stress related to having them.

    The last conversation seems a pretty common one in different forms. A child hungry but not wanting to eat what’s offered thinking if they ask later the options have changed lol

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • Dream

      I’ve got a feature enabled on my blog that “closes” posts from comments after a certain number of days. It keeps the s – p – a – m down.

      The last conversation was definitely one that occurred almost every night until I finally put an end to it last week. I told him I wasn’t a short-order cook and he was going to start eating what we ate. So far, he’s tried (and liked) steak, shrimp, philly cheesesteaks, lasagna, bratwurst and beer-smoked chicken. None of which he would even try before.