Saturday 9: Just Give Me a Reason

Saturday 9: Just Give Me a Reason (click here to play along)

Welcome to Saturday: 9. What we’ve committed to our readers is that we will post 9 questions every Saturday. Sometimes the post will have a theme, and at other times the questions will be totally unrelated. Those weeks we do “random questions,” so-to-speak. We encourage you to visit other participants posts and leave a comment. Because we don’t have any rules, it is your choice. We hate rules. We love memes, however, and here is today’s meme!  Thanks to Carielle for recommending this great song.

Thanks to our Saturday 9 host, Crazy Sam!

1) When she first burst onto the scene, Pink was a self-proclaimed tomboy. Now she’s glam. Literally. She was on the cover of the June issue of Glamour and is a spokeswoman for Covergirl cosmetics. Does a celebrity endorsement increase your interest in a product?  Absolutely not.  In fact, I think to myself, “the nerve of these celebrities hogging all the prime jobs and taking modeling gigs from those poor models who have no talents (like acting or singing) other than being able to look pretty**”.  And then I promptly forget whatever product was being hawked anyway.

2) This song is about a woman who feels her lover slipping away. Do you believe a couple can repair a relationship once it starts to sour?  Ideally, I would like to think they can.  But in reality, I think people are basically lazy and don’t want to have to “put in work” on a relationship.  Me, cynical?  Maybe.

3) As a little girl, Pink wanted to be an Olympic gymnast. If you could excel (or, if you do excel) at any sport, which one?  Any sport that doesn’t require 20 hours of training a day, let’s you sit down and relax for the bulk of it, and allows you to drink beer during the performance of it.  Got it…bowling.  Nailed it.

4) Pink is married to motorcycle pro Carey Hart. Have you ever ridden really fast on a motorcycle? Once or twice.  Exhilarating, in more ways than one.

5) When she found out she was pregnant, Pink says she gave up whiskey and cigarettes … but admits she misses the whiskey. Do you have a habit you know you should break?  I’ve already broken most of the bad ones I had (drinking, smoking, partying 6 nights a week).  My only real vice left is caffeine and I’ve got that under control now as well, but I’ll never completely banish it.

6) In 2010, she fell out of the aerial harness that was supposed to carry her across the stage. Are you afraid of heights?  Yes, terrified.  But its not a fear of heights, its a fear of falling, relating back to a fall headfirst from a second-story to a cement floor when I was three.  Even less than a foot off the ground, I get shaky and panicked if I don’t have a railing or harness.

7) Pink enjoys showing off her tattoos. Do you have any body art?  Yes, one tattoo currently, commemorating the birth of my son.  I have plans for another as a reward when I reach a certain goal.

8) Pink can be very salty in her language. When was the last time you cursed?  If I’m not cursing, I’m probably not talking.

9) On her website, Pink sells 10 different t-shirts. Do you have a favorite t-shirt? What does it look like/say?  My current favorite is a black “Van Gogh” Exploding Tardis T-shirt.  Yeah, I’m a geek.  I’ve got a coffee cup with River Song’s Melody Malone on it that I’d love to find as a T-shirt.

**Yes, that was sarcasm.  I really don’t give a flip about who’s selling what product.

Dream Sig 3

6 comments

    • Dream

      After thinking about it some more, some percentage may not be laziness, but a misguided ideal of “love”. If you “love” each other, it should automatically be unicorns and rainbows, especially in young girls. They think if a relationship isn’t easy or natural, it can’t be “real love”.

  1. The Gal Herself

    I love your answer to #1 because a similar thought occurred to me as I was shopping for makeup. This displays at the drugstore were almost ALL actresses! There’s Kate Hudson for Almay, Zooey Deschanel for Rimmel, Ellen DeGeneres for Cover Girl, Jennifer Aniston for Aveeno …

    • Dream

      I’d like to see a company take a “truth in advertising” stand and not use celebrities or models at all. Show their products on the checkout woman from Wal-Mart, the waitress from the Waffle House or the mechanic that does oil changes at Jiffy Lube.

  2. Jak

    Interesting hop. You had some great answers.

    Jaded on relationships and love? Perhaps, perhaps not. Relationships I feel can be repaired, but it definitely needs to be mutual and takes work from both individuals. So often it’s one-sided. Not that “love” isn’t there… just… well, some people suck? haha Or just aren’t the best when it comes to maintaining relationships/marriages/etc.

    When “love” starts slipping away, that’s when good ‘ol Jak Cryton always says: “Add a stripper in the mix!”

    Not really, but now come to think of it…

    For the sport I instantly thought of hotdog/pie eating contests, but I suppose being you are racing it would be pretty intense and stressful. Bowling it is.

    I share the same fear of falling. For the longest time it was heights, but I think I narrowed it to specifically being the fear or falling, but then I wonder if that isn’t almost universal. I mean, who hates heights, but is all “I could totally be okay with falling from this height!”? Ponderings to ponder. That sounds like a crazy fall and I’m glad you survived it, being so young. Scary.

    #8 I like your fucking style!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • Dream

      Strippers are like bacon…they make everything better.

      My sport answer was down to bowling and fishing. There’s just too many downsides (the smell, the slime, there being no bathrooms out on a boat in the middle of the lake) to the whole fishing thing though.

      So, a qualification, though its explainable, I have an irrational fear of falling. Fear of falling from the 30th floor balcony..healthy. Hysterical fear of falling off a 2×4 ramp to the tailgate of a pick-up truck…irrational.

      #8. Hell yeah. Though I’m not even sure if words like hell, ass, and shit even qualify as swear words anymore.