Dazed and Confused

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend in the Seventies what would it contain? This is NOT a best of. This is If You Were You, in the seventies, and You Were Making A Mix Tape For A Friend (on any topic) What Would It Be?

For a few years in the mid 2000’s, I was a DJ for an internet radio station that ran blocks of themed music.  So for my time slot on Saturday evenings I picked classic rock of the 60’s and 70’s.  I was comfortable and knowledgeable with that genre, so it was a really enjoyable time for me.  My all-time favorite show I did was one I built around the music of the movie Dazed and Confused.

dazed_and_confused_ver2

I listen to this type of music so often that my son, who takes after his father in preferring country music, has taken a liking to it and requests this soundtrack when I’m chauffeuring him around.  So, even though the movie didn’t come out until 1993, I’m dedicating this twisted mixtape to the music featured in the movie which was all released between 1972-1975.

It wasn’t until I was doing some research on Dazed and Confused that I realized how many stars of today were in this movie as virtual unknowns:  Ben Affleck, Milla Jovovich, Parker Posey, Rory Cochrane and my favorite, Matthew McConaughey and his now iconic phrase (used in quite a few of his movies) “Alright. Alright. Alright.”.  I was surprised to learn the story behind how and when he came up with the phrase for the movie.

1.  Free Ride – Edgar Winter Group (released 1972).  Wow.  There’s just no mistaking the guitar intro.  Just wow.

2.  Stranglehold – Ted Nugent (1975).  I’ve been trying to post videos with the original recordings, even if I had to sacrifice video for it, but in this case, this live version from about five years ago is just so mind-blowingly kickass, I had to use it.  So sue me.  Interesting fact I learned while finding a video:  Ted Nugent didn’t sing the vocals on the release of this song, it was Derek St. Holmes.

3.  No More Mr. Nice Guy – Alice Cooper (1973).  I was watching the Dark Shadows movie several days ago and saw Alice Cooper had a cameo performing this song.  That’s what led me to the idea of doing this mixtape for one of the 70’s blogs.  But back to Dazed and Confused, I loved the way they used this song in the movie and I can never hear it without thinking of that poor kid getting paddled by Ben Affleck (among others).  By the way, if you ever come across the cover of this song by Pat Boone…run.  Its so very, very wrong.  I’m still trying not to stab myself in the ears with a pencil.

4.  Show Me The Way – Peter Frampton (1975).  Talk-box!

5.  Tuesday’s Gone – Lynyrd Skynyrd (1973).  In the movie, they used this song during “the morning after” and now I get that “morning after” feeling every time I hear it.  What would a 70’s mixtape be without a little Skynyrd?

Honorable Mention:  The Hurricane – Bob Dylan (1975).  Not only is it Bob Dylan, but there’s an interesting story about this song.

22 comments

  1. Clark Scottroger

    Perfect! (At least congruent with my personal taste in music! lol) The movie itself is one of my personal favorites not only capturing the music of the time, but Linklater (as a clark) captures the reality of the time, albeit from a rather peculiar viewpoint. (Loved Slater…)

    • Dream

      I was too young to really appreciate the early 70’s as shown in the movie. Knowing myself as I do now, that would have been my ideal kinda night.

  2. Jen

    The thing about Frampton is, it HAS to be live. I mean some guys are studio musicians…he is a performer, love that choice! Also love your theme. So perfect. Now you’re gonna have to think extra hard when it’s Best of Soundtrack’s time 🙂 I’m gonna be watching you….
    This is a great list, thanks for bringing the Rockers!

    • Dream

      No problem with the movie soundtracks, I have tons and since you brought it up, I’m already trying to decide between the first three that popped into my mind. The easy-to-listen-to stuff from the 70’s is great (Bread, Chicago, Croce, etc.), but I had to go with my rockin’ heart this week.

  3. Lance

    A lot of muscle and hair in this list. I love it. Skynyrd rules! We have to say that here in the south or poxes are placed on our houses.

    I liked this one. I may listen to it again.

    • Dream

      You’re so right and it wasn’t even intentional. *lighter up* “FreeeBird!” I went to college a little bit south of you, so I get the Skynyrd thing.

  4. Dana

    Gotta admit, I don’t know most of these songs. That’s what makes this hop fun, though – love the variety of musical tastes!

    • Dream

      I know what you mean and especially this week I’ve run into quite a few songs and even groups that I’d not heard of before!

  5. Kristi Campbell

    How fun that you used to be a DJ! That’s awesome! I love Tuesday’s Gone. Love. Thanks so much for your excellent list and for linking up with us today!

    • Dream

      As much as I love music, it was so much fun to do. I’d like to get back into it when my family can understand the “don’t knock on the door to ask where the popcorn is” rule when I’m broadcasting.

  6. modmomelleroy

    Frampton was such a staple of the 70s, it’s only fitting that he’s included. Skynyrd – love them. I’m a big Southern Rock fan. My husband, not so much, but we work it out for the sake of the band. 😉 Love that you included Uncle Bob.

  7. Middleage Monologues

    My older brother is a huge Frampton fan! We used to listen to this when he was re-modeling his 1950’s chevy truck in our garage…I totally forgot about this song! Thanks for reminding me!

    • Dream

      I went through another Frampton obsession about six years ago…all Frampton, all the time. I had to include him.

  8. Pingback: Survive the Nightlife | I Dream of White Rooms