Mr. Blind Postman Wants You Twistin’ Nowhere

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee host Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend in the SIXTIES what would it contain? This is NOT a best of. This is If You Were You, in the Sixties, and You Were Making A Mix Tape For A Friend (on any topic) What Would It Be?

Last week, for the 60’s Part 1, I indulged my inner hippie with some late 60’s rock.  This week I’m going in a different direction and mixing up it up with some Motown.  I’m not limiting it to just artists on the Motown label, but they all have that R&B factor.

1.  Please, Mr. Postman – The Marvelettes (1961).  I remember when I was around 6, the older girl next door had the 45 of this song and after I heard it the first time, I kept begging her to play it over and over again.  A few interesting facts about this song and group:  Marvin Gaye played the drums on the original recording.  This was the first of the Motown label artists to reach the #1 spot on the Billboard Hot 100 list in the pop category.  The Marvelettes were the forerunners of the female R&B groups in the 60’s, paving the way for groups like the Supremes and Martha and the Vandellas.

2.  Twistin’ the Night Away – Sam Cooke (1962).  I know I heard this song several times growing up, but it was hearing it in the movies Animal House and Innerspace that cemented my love for it.  Who can resist a drunk Martin Short dancing Ed Grimley-style with a miniaturized Dennis Quaid inside his body?

3.  Nowhere to Run – Martha & the Vandellas (1965).  The first time I actually remember hearing this song was in the movie Good Morning Vietnam, but it was the perfect song for the perfect moment.  Whenever I hear it now, I just want to dance.

4.  I’d Rather Go Blind – Etta James (1968).  I’m at a loss to describe the emotion this song evokes in me when Etta sings it.  She’s just too fabulous for mere words.   Its beauty is in the simplicity of the way she sings it, putting the emotion into her voice instead of using a bunch of vocal gymnastics.  Beyonce’s version from Cadillac Records pales in comparison, but if you’d like a great cover of the song, check out Beth Hart & Jeff Beck.  A very different style from Etta’s version, but just as emotional.

5.  I Want You Back – Jackson 5 (1969 release, didn’t hit the charts til 1970).  I just can’t do two posts of the 60’s and not mention the Jackson’s at all.  I’m not a huge fan of the Jacksons overall, but there are a few songs I really like.  And this one I REALLY love.

15 comments

    • I Dream of White Rooms

      These two weeks of the 60’s were so difficult because of how many musical “styles” emerged or evolved in this time frame. There were so many truly talented singers that weren’t only hits during their time, but had staying power for decades in the future (like Sam Cooke). It something that pop “artists” today lack. I seriously doubt that 50 years from now someone will be squeeing over Selena Gomez (at least I hope not).

  1. Jen

    I love this list!! The Motown take is so awesome. I really love the way you did this and am so glad to add this to our YouTube playlist!

    • I Dream of White Rooms

      Thanks! Are you making just one playlist for each decade or for each week? I love pulling up a playlist and letting it run in the background as I’m “computin’ ” during the day.

  2. Melissa Swedoski

    What an awesome roundup! I love Twistin’ the Night Away, and you’re right, totally makes me think of those two movies. I need to go watch Innerspace.

    • Dream

      Thanks! From reading your posts, I knew you must live somewhere in my general vicinity, but you’re a lot closer than I thought. I’m about 30 miles west of Knoxville.

      • adventures

        Wow! We are kind of neighbors 😉 long distance, but close enough! It’s always nice to find a blogger that lives nearby. I thought from your title page, you may be close also. Hillbilly 😉