Along the Roadhouse Together With the Pale Rabbit

Jen Kehl at My Skewed View hosts Twisted MixTape Tuesday, a blog hop that’s all about music.  The premise is to create a five song mix based on the week’s theme.  (You can click on the button above if you’d like to play along).

Here’s Jen’s instructions for today’s topic: If you were going to make a mix for a friend in the SIXTIES what would it contain? This is NOT a best of. This is If You Were You, in the Sixties, and You Were Making A Mix Tape For A Friend (on any topic) What Would It Be?

I can so do this.  The first step was narrowing down which genre .  Folk?  Motown? Beach?  Nah, its gotta be my favorite Rock songs (if you couldn’t tell from the title).  These are the songs I’d want my 60’s friends and I to be listening to as we chilled out at home with great music, great booze and getting a bit “altered”  *ahem*.

1.  All Along the Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix.  This version wins my heart for best overall 60’s song, Best Rock Song of all Time and Best Cover Song (original written and sung by Bob Dylan).  I could totally see myself in the 60’s, rocking a dashiki, headband and beads and stoned out of my mind jamming out to this song.  Oh wait, that was yesterday.

2.  Roadhouse Blues – The Doors.  Anyone that saw my blues list from last week can’t be surprised by my second choice.  And Jim Morrison *swoons*

3.  A Whiter Shade of Pale – Procol Harum.  That intro is so smooth and mellow.  And I’ve spent so long trying to decipher the meaning of the lyrics and just keeping coming back for more.

4.  Come Together – The Beatles.  This song seemed to be a bit of a departure from their original boy band style.  Rougher, tougher and in-tune with what was going on in the late 60s.

5.  White Rabbit – Jefferson Airplane.  Shrooms anyone?  Plus Grace Slick’s voice.  And you can’t really beat a song that was able to get so many drug references onto mainstream radio.

I’m so glad Jen has opted to spend two weeks on the 60’s and I can’t wait for next week to share more of my favorites from that decade!

signature

16 comments

  1. Jen

    Your list could have been my list. I so love that version of All Along the Watchtower. The best ever, even as an ex-deadhead Jimi has my heart. My license plate is LTL WING, so there’s that. But the rest…man you really got it, and I’m so glad, because I am making a mix based on all of these songs for my vacation. So I’ll see you in South Carolina for part deux. Can’t wait to see what you bring!

    • I Dream of White Rooms

      Great to find a musical sistah from another mistah. I need to make a few more mixes for my vacay too, but its not til end of July. I know I saw on your blog or in comments where you were headed in SC, but don’t remember exactly. I think we’re headed in the same general area (mine’s to Savannah). I think I’m going with Motown next week. Have a great trip!

  2. findingninee

    I had no idea that All Along The Watchtower was originally done by Bob Dylan. Awesome song by the way. And a Whiter Shade of Pale is an old favorite of mine for sure. In fact, knowing it once allowed me a win at Trivial Pursuit. The question was “what song features the words “sixteen vessel virgins?” Awesome, huh?

    • I Dream of White Rooms

      Fantastic! I’m a trivia junkie myself.

      I think Whiter Shade of Pale is one of the most famous for a least known band. If that makes sense. Everyone knows the song, but no one knows who sings it.

  3. modmomelleroy

    Yeah – White Rabbit! Solidarity. 🙂 I love that everybody picked a different Beatles tune. So many great ones. All of your choices are favorites of mine. Epic 60s! I also love your blog name. Ahh…for me, with two boys, three dogs, a cat and a husband, sadly there isn’t enough bleach in the world. lol

    • I Dream of White Rooms

      I tried to comment on your list earlier (and the White Rabbit mirror) and my browser kept locking up. Blog-blocked by Firefox. *sighs* I see you definitely can understand my white room fantasies. I think my next decorating decision will be black walls and floors!

  4. Clark Scottroger

    Procol Harum!! ( I think you are the only other one to find something of theirs to put on this weeks MT)
    …and of Hendrix, nothing need be added.

    v good song selection.

  5. Lance

    I think I’ve made this mixtape, before. I wrote a post a couple of years ago about how Bob Dylan’s song, All Along the Watchtower, covers what people are in life – either a joker or a thief. As long as we keep being jokers, we’re okay.

    This list makes me want to play guitar and drink…thanks dude

    • I Dream of White Rooms

      I’ll have to go look for that post. I’d like to read it if its in your archives. To be honest, until about 10 years ago, I didn’t even know that the Hendrix version was a cover.

      I hope playing guitar and drinking is a good thing!

  6. Pingback: Mr. Blind Postman Wants You Twistin’ Nowhere | I Dream of White Rooms